Deane Group

Level System

Deane Group Level System

Common European Framework of Reference of Language

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages or CEFR, is a guideline used to describe achievements of learners of foreign languages across Europe. It was put together by the Council of Europe as the main part of the project “Language Learning for European Citizenship” between 1989 and 1996. Its main aim is to provide a method of assessing and teaching which applies to all languages in Europe. In November 2001 a European Union Council Resolution recommended using the CEFR to set up systems of validation of language ability.  

There are 6 reference levels  (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2).

The table also includes the University of Cambridge ESOL exams for Business and General English, the Deane Group levels and TOEIC test score equivalents which are used in the rigorous and  systematic assessment of student progress.

Related links:


CEFR ‘Can-Do’ Language Levels